## Outstanding JNM Articles for 2011

ominique Delbeke, MD, PhD, editor in chief of The Journal of Nuclear Medicine (JNM), and her associate editors and editorial board announced in May the articles chosen as the most outstanding contributions to the literature appearing in 2011. The *JNM* Editors' Choice Awards are presented at the SNM Annual Meeting, with this year's presentations to be held on June 11 in Miami, FL. Accepting authors are given certificates and plaques recognizing their achievements. "Along with my colleagues on the editorial board, I was pleased to recognize these articles as outstanding in what was a year of remarkably high-quality submissions to JNM," said Delbeke. "The range of topics covered represents not only the extraordi-



Brian P. Lieberman



Eleni Gourni



Keelara Abiraj

nary scope of current molecular imaging and therapy but also the extent to which our field truly integrates science across the spectrum-from basic laboratory endeavors to clinical applications to the analysis of outcomes and benefits."

In the Basic Science Investigations category, awards will be presented to: Brian P. Lieberman, Karl Ploessl, Limin Wang, Wenchao Qu, Zhihao Zha, David R. Wise, Lewis P. Chodosh, George Belka, Craig B. Thompson, and Hank F. Kung, from the University of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia), for "PET imaging of glutaminolysis in tumors by  $^{18}$ F-(2S,4R)4-fluoroglutamine" (J Nucl Med. 2011;42:1947-1955); Eleni Gourni, Oliver Demmer, Margret Schottelius, Calogero D'Alessandria, Stefan Schulz, Ingrid Dijkgraaf, Udo Schumacher, Markus Schwaiger, Horst Kessler, and Hans-Jürgen Wester, from the Technische Universität München (Garching, Germany), for "PET of CXCR4 expression by a <sup>68</sup>Ga-labeled highly specific targeted contrast agent" (J Nucl Med. 2011;52:1803-1810); and Keelara Abiraj, Rosalba Mansi, Maria Luisa Tamma, Melpomeni Fani, Flavio Forrer, Guillaume Nicolas, Renzo Cescato, Jean Claude Reubi, and

Helmut R. Maecke, from University Hospital Basel (Switzerland), for "Bombesin antagonist-based radioligands for translational nuclear imaging of gastrinreleasing peptide receptor-positive tumors" (J Nucl Med. 2011:52:1970-1978).

Awards in the Clinical Investigations category will be given to: Jorge A. Carrasquillo, Neeta Pandit-Taskar, Joseph A. O'Donoghue, John L. Humm, Pat Zanzonico, Peter M. Smith-Jones, Chaitanya R. Divgi, Daniel A. Pryma, Shutian Ruan, Nancy E. Kemeny, Yuman Fong, Douglas Wong, Jaspreet Jaggi, David A. Scheinberg, Mithat Gonen, Katherine S. Panageas, Gerd Ritter, Achim A. Jungbluth, Lloyd J. Old, and Steven M. Larson, from the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center (New York, NY), for "124I-huA33 antibody PET of colorectal cancer" (J Nucl Med. 2011; 52:1173–1180); Fidel J. Vos, Chantal P. Bleeker-Rovers, Bart Jan Kullberg, Eddy M.M. Adang, and Wim J.G. Oyen, from the Radboud University Nijmegen Medical Centre (Nijmegen, Fidel J. Vos The Netherlands), for "Cost-effectiveness of routine 18F-FDG PET/CT in high-risk patients with gram-positive bacteremia" (J Nucl Med. 2011;52: 1673-1678); and Xue Meng, Billy W. Loo, Jr., Li Ma, James D. Murphy, Xindong Sun, and Jinming Yu, from Shandong Cancer Hospital (Jinan, China), for "Molecular imaging with <sup>11</sup>C-PD153035 PET/CT predicts survival in non-small cell lung cancer treated with EGFR-TKI: a pilot study" (J Nucl Med. 2011;52: 1573-1579).



Jorge A. Carrasquillo





Xue Meng

"I am pleased to note that these outstanding articles come from research centers around the world," said Delbeke. "The continuing high quality of articles submitted from the global nuclear medicine community is encouraging and rewarding for those of us involved in the editorial process."