## Outstanding JNM Articles for 2004

Heinrich R. Schelbert, MD, PhD, and the associate editors and editorial board of The Journal of Nuclear Medicine announced in May the articles chosen as the most outstanding contributions to the literature appearing in JNM in 2004. The authors of these articles will be honored at the annual meeting of the SNM in Toronto later this month. First authors or their representatives will be presented with certificates and plaques recognizing their achievements. "These articles indicate not only the broad international representation of authors and institutions seen regularly in the pages of JNM, but the wide range of investigations that promise to expand our understanding of disease, particularly malignant and neurologic disease, through innovations in diagnosis, predictive abilities, radiopharmaceuticals, and both basic and clinical techniques," said Schelbert. "I congratulate these authors for their contributions. The continuing high quality of articles submitted for publication in the journal is encouraging and rewarding for those of us involved in the editorial process."



Mikako Ogawa, MS

In the Basic Sciences Investigations category, the first place award will go to Mikako Ogawa, MS; Seigo Ishino, BS; Takahiro Mukai, PhD; Daigo Asano, BS; Noboru Teramoto, BS; Hiroshi Watabe, PhD; Nobuyuki Kudomi, PhD; Masashi Shiomi, PhD; Yasuhiro Magata, PhD; Hidehiro Iida, PhD; and Hideo Saji, PhD, for "18F-FDG Accumulation in Ath-

erosclerotic Plaques: Immunohistochemical and PET Imaging Study" (*J Nucl Med.* 2004;45:1245–1250). The second-place award in this category will be presented to Anne Roivainen, PhD; Tuula Tolvanen, MSc; Satu Salomäki, MSc; Gabor Lendvai, MSc; Irina Velikyan, MSc; Petri Numminen, MSc; Maria Välilä, MSc; Hannu Sipilä, MSc; Mats Bergström, PhD; Pirkko Härkönen, MD, PhD; Harri Lönnberg, PhD; and Bengt Långström, PhD, for "68Ga-Labeled Oligonucleotides for In Vivo Imaging with

PET" (*J Nucl Med.* 2004;45:347–355). Toyofumi Suzuki, PhD; Dafang Wu, MD, PhD; Felix Schlachetzki, MD; Jian Yi Li, MD, PhD; Ruben J. Boado, PhD; and William M. Pardridge, MD, will receive the third-place award for "Imaging Endogenous Gene Expression in Brain Cancer In Vivo with <sup>111</sup>In-Peptide Nucleic



Steven M. Larson, MD

Acid Antisense Radiopharmaceuticals and Brain Drug-Targeting Technology" (*J Nucl Med.* 2004;45:1766–1775).

The first-place award in the Clinical Investigations category will be given to Steven M. Larson, MD; Michael Morris, MD; Ilonka Gunther, PhD; Brad Beattie, BA; John L. Humm, PhD; Timothy A. Akhurst, MD; Ronald D. Finn, PhD; Yusuf Erdi, PhD; Keith Pentlow, MS; Jon Dyke, PhD; Olivia Squire, RN; William Bornmann, PhD; Timothy Mc-Carthy; Michael Welch, PhD; and Howard Scher, MD, for "Tumor Localization of 16β-18F-Fluoro-5α-Dihydrotestosterone Versus <sup>18</sup>F-FDG in Patients with Progressive, Metastatic Prostate Cancer" (J Nucl Med. 2004;45: 366–373). Einat Even-Sapir, MD, PhD; Ur Metser, MD; Gideon Flusser, MD; Limor Zuriel, MSc; Yehuda Kollender, MD; Hedva Lerman, MD; Gennady Lievshitz, MD; Ilan Ron, MD; and Eyal Mishani, PhD, will receive the second-place award in this category for "Assessment of Malignant Skeletal Disease: Initial Experience with <sup>18</sup>F-Fluoride PET/CT and Comparison Between <sup>18</sup>F-Fluoride PET and <sup>18</sup>F-Fluoride PET/CT" (J Nucl Med. 2004;45:272–278). The third-place award will be presented to Tracy L. Faber, PhD; Cesar A. Santana, MD, PhD; Ernest V. Garcia, PhD; Jaume Candell-Riera, MD; Russell D. Folks, BS; John W. Peifer, MS; Andrew Hopper, BS; Santiago Aguade, MD; Joan Angel, MD; and J. Larry Klein, MD, for "Three-Dimensional Fusion of Coronary Arteries with Myocardial Perfusion Distributions: Clinical Validation" (J Nucl Med. 2004;45:745–753).

## Outstanding *JNMT* Articles for 2004

Beth A. Harkness, editor-in-chief of the *Journal of Nuclear Medicine Technology*, will present awards to the authors of 3 articles chosen as outstanding contributions to *JNMT* in 2004 at the SNM annual meeting in Toronto later this month.

Janelle M. Wheat, BAppSc, MmedRadSc, and Geoffrey M. Currie, MMedRadSc, MAppMngt, CNMT, will receive the first-place award for "Impact of Patient Motion on Myocardial Perfusion SPECT Diagnostic In-(Continued on page 20N)