CASNM Annual Meeting

■ he Chinese American Society of Nuclear Medicine (CASNM) held its annual meeting on June 20, when about 100 participants gathered in Philadelphia at the time of the SNM annual meeting. The CASNM event included an educational program, in which an invited lecture titled "Metabolic Response of Colorectal Metastasis after 90Y Radioembolisation" was presented by C. Oliver Wong, PhD, MD, from the William Beaumont Hospital (Troy, MI). Also a part of the meeting activities was a user support session on "Integral Cardiac Applications of PET with Multislice CT Mapping," conducted by Jeff Kao, MS, GE Medical Systems. During the meeting, we had the honor of congratulating and celebrating Dr. Hank F. Kung upon being the first Chinese American to receive the prestigious Paul C. Aebersold Award (2004) from the SNM.

CASNM was established in 1977 as a nonprofit, non-political organization with the objectives of encouraging professional contact among members all over the world, facilitating scientific exchanges in research and development, and promoting international interaction with regard to the science of nuclear medicine with a special focus in the Chinese community. The membership of CASNM is not restricted to practitioners living in North America. We also welcome participants from Europe, Australia, Asia, and elsewhere to join our organization. The current president and secretary/treasurer of CASNM are Joseph C. Hung, PhD, Mayo Clinic, and C. Oliver Wong, respectively. The next annual meeting will be held in conjunction with the 52nd



At the CASNM meeting in Philadelphia (left to right): Drs. Chyng Yann Shiue (president, 1999–2001), Chris Pak (president, 1992–1993), Wei Chang (president, 1987–1988), Ban An Khaw (president, 1990–1992), Hank F. Kung (recipient of 2004 Paul C. Aebersold Award), Joseph C. Hung (current president), Samuel D. Yeh (president, 1981–1983), C. Oliver Wong (current secretary/treasurer), and Wei-Jen Shih (president, 1993–1995).

annual meeting of the SNM in Toronto, Canada. For anyone who is interested in learning more about CASNM, please visit the CASNM Web site at www.casnm.org.

Joseph C. Hung, PhD Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN C. Oliver Wong, MD, PhD William Beaumont Hospital Royal Oak, MI

IASNM Annual Meeting

early 90 members and guests attended the annual dinner and awards ceremony of the Indo-American Society of Nuclear Medicine (IASNM) at the Passage to India restaurant on June 19 during the annual meeting of the SNM in Philadelphia, PA. The IASNM Gopal Subramanian Life Time Achievement Award 2004 was presented to Dr. Diwakar Jain, a nuclear cardiologist at Drexel University in Philadelphia, PA. As president of the IASNM in 1993, he led a delegation of experts to India and was responsible for a stellar scientific program at that year's SNM(I) annual meeting.

Travel fellowships were awarded to a physician and a scientist from India to enable their attendance at this year's SNM meeting. At the IASNM meeting, the best abstract in the clinical sciences category was awarded to Dr. Sandeep Basu from the Radiation Medicine Centre in Bombay, and the best abstract in the basic sciences cat-



Dr. Diawkar Jain (left) received the Gopal Subramanian Lifetime Achievement award from Dr. Chaitanya Divgi (right), as Dr. Sanjiv Gambhir looked on.

egory was awarded to Dr. Jaya Shukla from the All-India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi. Awards to (Continued on page 53N) Kuhl-Lassen Award (Continued from page 38N) study," said Devous in accepting the award. "I can't imagine a more interesting career, unless as a poet, than to be part of the effort to unravel one of the last great mysteries of biology—the intersection between thought and the physical functioning of the brain."

Devous received his undergraduate degree from Washington University in 1970 and earned his doctorate in nuclear chemistry and physics from Texas A&M University in 1976. Among his awards and honors are the SNM Presidential Distinguished Service Award (1997), the Award of Merit from the Hong Kong Society of Nuclear Medicine (1997), and the Charles A. Dana Foundation award (2001). His wide-ranging investigations include the role of functional brain imaging in exploring the biology of psychiatric and neurologic disorders as well as in understanding brain

function and central nervous system pathology in animal models. His work with functional brain imaging has included foci on mood disorders, deafness and speech disorders, substance abuse, bipolar disorders, dementia, schizophrenia, anxiety disorders, head trauma, epilepsy, and stroke.

Previous recipients of the Kuhl-Lassen award include Dean F. Wong, MD, PhD, Johns Hopkins University; Ronald S. Tikofsky, PhD, Columbia University; Yoshiharu Yonekura, MD, PhD, Fukui Medical University, Japan; Peter Herscovitch, MD, National Institute of Mental Health; Nora Volkow, MD, director of the National Institute of Drug Abuse; Albert H. Gjedde, DSc, MD, Aarhus University, Denmark; Marcus E. Raichle, MD, Washington University; and Louis Sokoloff, MD, National Institute of Mental Health.

Tetalman Award (Continued from page 38N)

Science Award given by the Nuclear Medical Imaging and Sciences Technical Committee of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Varian Prize awarded by the Swiss Society of Radiobiology and Medical Physics. He is a member of the editorial boards of a number of Scientific journals He is the editor of 2 textbooks on therapeutic applications of Monte Carlo calculations in nuclear medicine and quantitative analysis in nuclear medicine imaging. He recently joined the Computed Imaging for Medical Imaging collaboration hosted by CERN to work on novel design of high-resolution, parallax-free Compton-enhanced PET scanners.

IASNM (Continued from page 40N)

young investigators of Indian origin working in the United States went to Dr. Rakesh Kumar from the University of Pennsylvania for best abstract in clinical science and to Dr. S. Vemulapalli from Duke University for best abstract in basic science.

The relationship between the IASNM and SNM(I) is growing, and IASNM is building a relationship between the SNM and the SNM(I). An important milestone for Indians in North America was the assumption of the presidency of the SNM by a person of Indian origin. Mathew Thakur, PhD, has contributed significantly to the field, not least with his development of white cell labeling techniques. To commemorate Mathew's presidency, we plan a strong presence in India at the annual meeting of the SNM(I), December 15–18, in Mysore. A number of speakers, including Drs. Tom Miller of Washington University (chair of the SNM Scientific Committee), Steve Larson of Memorial Sloan—

Kettering Cancer Center (a director of the American Board of Nuclear Medicine), and Alexander McEwan from the Cross Cancer Institute (president of the Nuclear Oncology Council) have agreed to participate. The SNM(I) has graciously drawn up a program that will feature keynote lectures by these speakers. A finalized list of speakers and topics will be available shortly.

During the past year, the IASNM has taken several steps toward strengthening the organization and expanding its services. The Web site (www.iasnm.org) is fully functional and updated regularly. Jim Strommer at the University of California at Los Angeles has provided valuable assistance in maintaining the site.

Chaitanya Divgi, MD Weill Medical College of Cornell University Memorial Sloan–Kettering Cancer Center New York, NY

Errata

In the August issue of Newsline, page 20N, **Suzuki et al. from the Jikei University School of Medicine** (**Japan**) should have been listed as the authors of the study on differentiation of Parkinson's disease from dementia with Lewy bodies discussed in the text and presented in Figure 13.

In the same issue, page 37N, the text should have indicated that "83 FDA-approved RDRCs conducted 280 studies" in 2002.