## **SNM and Education and Research** Foundation Announce Awards

Several SNM members were chosen as recipients of prestigious awards and honors at the society's annual MidWinter meeting (February 14–16) in New Orleans, LA. These awards and honors will be conferred at a series of events throughout the year.

SNM's Educational and Research Foundation named Sally DeNardo, MD, and Gerald DeNardo, MD, (University of California at Sacramento, CA) as the joint winners of the 2000 Cassen Prize. This honor has been called the Nobel Prize of nuclear medicine and carries an award of \$25,000. The prize is named for the late physicist Benedict Cassen, whose invention, the rectilinear scanner, first brought the ability to image patients to nuclear medicine. His widow, Mary Wylie Cassen, made a bequest to the Foundation to establish a major award in recognition of outstanding achievement in encouraging development and growth in nuclear medicine.

Ronald [Jack] Jaszczak, PhD, of Duke Uni-

versity Medical Center, Durham, NC, was selected by the Awards Committee as the 2000 Paul C. Aebersold Award recipient. Dr. Jaszczak will be presented the award by Dr. Edward Coleman, also of Duke University, during the plenary session at the SNM 2000 annual meeting in St. Louis, MO.

Lori Bray Croft, MD, of the Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York, NY, was selected by the Awards Committee as the recipient of the 2000–2001 SNM-DuPont Fellowship for Research in Women's Health. Dr. Croft and Mount Sinai Medical Center will be presented with the \$30,000 fellowship at the SNM annual business meeting on June 3, 2000, in St. Louis, MO.

Also presented at the annual business meeting will be the 2000 Loevinger-Berman Award for Excellence in Medical Internal Dosimetry. The award goes to Dandamudi V. Rao, PhD, Department of Radiology, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, Newark, NJ.

## Slate of Candidates for 2000 SNM Elections

t the MidWinter Meeting in New Orleans (February 14–16) the Committee on Nominations finalized the slate of candidates for the 2000 SNM Elections. Candidate information and ballots were mailed to all eligible SNM members during the week of February 28, 2000. The deadline for posting ballots is April 10, 2000. Voters will be asked to select 1 candidate for vice president-elect and 4 candidates for delegatesat-large to the House of Delegates. The 2000 SNM election slate of candidates is:

## 2000 SNM candidates for vice president-elect:

Michael J. Gelfand, MD, Chief, Section on Nuclear Medicine, Children's Hospital Medical

Center, Cincinnati, OH.

Dr. Jamshid Maddahi, MD, Director of Nuclear Medicine and Cardiac Imaging, Biomedical Imaging Institute, and Professor of Molecular and Medical Pharmacology (Nuclear Medicine) and Radiological Sciences, University of California at Los Angeles School of Medicine, Los Angeles, CA.

## Candidates for delegates-at-large to the House of Delegates:

Gary L. Dillehay, MD Josef Machac, MD Warren H. Moore, MD James A. Patton, PhD Edward B. Silberstein, MD Joseph H. Volpe, MD Robert H. Wagner, MD