# MIRD, ERF, and JNM Honor Research



Authors of JNM 1998 Outstanding Articles receive awards during JNM Editorial Breakfast.

(From left to right) Jean-Pierre Muratet, MD, Michael D. Devous, PhD, Sanjiv S. Gambhir, MD, PhD, Mark F. Smith, PhD, Chiara Grana, MD and Martin P. Sandler, MD, editor in chief.

uring the SNM 1999 Annual Meeting, the Medical Internal Radiation Dose (MIRD) Committee, the SNM Education and Research Foundation (ERF), and *The Journal of Nuclear Medicine* presented awards in a number of categories signalling outstanding research within a wide range of topics.

#### **MIRD Committee Presents Inaugural Award**

This year marked the first presentation of the Loevinger-Berman Award for Excellence in Internal Dosimetry, honoring two pioneers in the field: physicist Robert Loevinger and theoretical biologist Mones Berman. Loevinger and Berman collaborated to develop the MIRD Schema for calculating absorbed radiation doses from radiopharmaceuticals.

The recipient of the inaugural award was Roger J. Cloutier, formerly of Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU). In 1970 Cloutier and his staff at ORAU established the Radiation Internal Dose Information Center, which has provided information about radiation dosages to thousands of investigators all over the world. Cloutier chaired the MIRD Committee from 1975 through 1979, and he has served on NCRP committees that produced reports dealing with internal dosimetry and

developed important models for calculating absorbed radiation.

Having begun with so auspicious an awardee as Cloutier, the MIRD Committee is now searching for "nominees for the second Loevinger-Berman Award to be presented at the 2000 Annual Meeting of the Society of Nuclear Medicine," said committee chair Evelyn Watson.

The objective of the award, she added, is to recognize excellence pertaining to the field of internal dosimetry as it relates to the practice of nuclear medicine through a) research or development, b) significant contributions through single or multiple publications, or c) advance of understanding of internal dosimetry as it relates to risk and therapeutic efficacy.

Information on how to nominate or apply for the award will appear in future issues of JNM.

## **Education and Research Foundation**

A number of student fellowships and grants were awarded by the Education and Research Foundation during the June meeting. These included two groups of semiannual Student Fellowship Awards and two groups of seminanual Pilot Research Grants. Awardees for the Cassen Student Fellowships were also honored. (See accompanying box)

"The ERF is pleased to continue to support those individuals who may become the future researchers and practicioners in nuclear medicine. In the tradition of Dr. Benedict Cassen, the major benefactor of the Foundation, these investigators will be conducting research efforts to improve the science of nuclear medicine and care of patients using the information learned," said Conrad Nagle, MD, president of the Foundation.

## JNM Presents 1999 Outstanding Article Awards

During the 1999 JNM Editorial Board Breakfast, Martin Sandler, MD, JNM editor in chief, named authors of the journal's "outstanding papers in clinical investigation and basic science" during the 1998 volume year.

First-place winner in the "Outstanding Clinical Investigation" category was "Lymphoscintigraphy and Radioguided Biopsy of the Sentinel Axillary Node in Breast Cancer," by DeCicco, Cremonesi, Luini, Bartolomei, Grana,

Prisco, Galimberti, Calza, Viale, Veronesi, and Paganelli, of the Divisions of Nuclear Medicine, Senology and Pathology, European Institute of Oncology, Milan. (See accompanying box)

In the "Outstanding Basic Science Investigation" category, first place was won by "Quantitative Imaging of Iodine-131 Distributions in Brain Tumors with Pinhole SPECT: A Phantom Study," by Smith, Gilland, Coleman and Jaszczak, of the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Engineering, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, NC.

In making the awards, Sandler said," I am pleased to continue the tradition of highlighting the most outstanding articles in the clinical and basic sciences as judged by the journal's scientific awards committee. This year's recipients represent innovative ideas that will have a positive contribution on the future of nuclear medicine. We are most appreciative of all the investigators over the past year who submitted their work to the JNM for review."

# SNM 1999 Annual Awards, Part 2

#### 1999 Loevinger-Berman Award

Roger J. Cloutier

### **ERF Student Fellowship Awards**

February 1999

Philip M. Dwyer, Cedars Sinai

Ing Tsung Hsiao, SUNY at Stony Brook

David Denardo, UC Davis

Ann Marie Augustine, University of Nebraska

June 1999

Roland Lee, University of Pennsylvania

Starvos Memtsonis, UC Davis

Kevin Chang, University of Pennsylvania

Peter Massumi, Cedars Sinai

Alexander Nemeth, University of Pennsylvania Alvin Yamamoto, University of Pennsylvania

#### **ERF Pilot Research Grants**

February 1999

Edward A. Carter, PhD

Stephen Heckers, MD

June 1999

Janet Saffer, PhD

Miquel Forenberg, MD

Abdelhamid Saoudi, PhD

Elmer C. San Pedro

Mohamed Bentourkia, MD

Francious Benard, MD

Chyng-Yann Shive, PhD

### Cassen Fellowships

Lars-Eric Adam, PhD

Sungwoon Choi, MD

Kristen B. Taylor, PhD

# JNM 1998 Outstanding Article Awards

#### **Outstanding Clinical Investigation**

<u>First Place.</u> "Lymphoscintigraphy and Radioguided Biopsy of the Sentinel Axillary Node in Breast Cancer." JNM 1998;39:2080-2084. De Cicco et al.

<u>Second Place.</u> "SPECT Brain Imaging in Epilepsy: A Metaanalysis." Pages 285-293. Authors: Devous, Thisted, Morgan, Leroy and Rowe.

<u>Third Place.</u> "Influence of Scanning Doses of Iodine-131 on Subsequent First Ablative Treatment Outcome in Patients Operated on for Differentiated Thyroid Carcinoma." Pages 1546-1550. Authors: Muratet, Daver, Minier and Larra.

#### **Outstanding Basic Science Investigation**

First Place. "Quantitative Imaging of Iodine-131 Distributions in Brain Tumors with Pinhole SPECT: A Phantom Study." 1998;39:856-864. Authors: Smith et al.

<u>Second Place.</u> "Using Fast Sequential Asymmetric Fanbeam Transmission CT for Attenuation Correction of Cardiac SPECT Imaging." Pages 1335-1344. Authors: Hollinger, Loncaric, Yu, Ali and Chang.

Third Place. "Imaging of Adenoviral-Directed Herpes Simplex Virus Type 1 Thymidine Kinase Reporter Gene Expression in Mice with Radiolabeled Ganciclovir. Pages 2003-2011. Authors: Gambhir, Barrio, Wu, Iyer, Namavari, Satyamurthy, Bauer, Parrish, MacLaren, Borghei, Green, Sharfstein, Berk, Cherry, Phelps and Herschman.