Canada Approves Maple Reactor Plans

n April 3, Canada's Atomic Energy Control Board (AECB) approved the environmental screening report that allows plans to proceed for construction of two Maple medical isotope reactors and a processing facility for MDS Nordion. These new reactors will allow MDS Nordion to produce ⁹⁹Mo to meet the needs of the

nuclear medicine community for ^{99m}Tc generators. According to MDS Nordion, the AECBs decision allows construction of the reactors and processing facility to continue on schedule. Maple I is scheduled to begin operation in 1999 and Maple II a year later. The AECB report, prepared by AECB staff in cooperation with Natural Resources

Canada, determined that construction of these facilities is not likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects. The facilities, at the Chalk River Laboratories, Ontario site, will be owned by MDS Nordion International Inc. while Atomic Energy of Canada Limited will construct, operate and decommission the facilities.

1997-1998 SNM Election Results

The Nominating Committee is pleased to report the 1997-1998 Society of Nuclear Medicine (SNM) Election results. The results are as follows:

Vice President-Elect:

- VICE PRESIDENT-ELECT for 1997-1998
- PRESIDENT-ELECT for 1998-1999
- PRESIDENT for 1999-2000

Robert F. Carretta, MD

House of Delegates positions, four-year terms (1997-2001):

■ DELEGATES-AT-LARGE

Robert W. Burt, MD

Peter Stephen Conti, MD, PhD

James Seabold, MD

Mathew L. Thakur, PhD

Elected Chapter Delegates positions; presented and confirmed at the 1997 Mid-Winter Meeting in Palm Springs, California, four-year term (1997-2001):

■ CHAPTER DELEGATES

Central Chapter

Donald S. Schauwecker, PhD, MD

Greater New York Chapter

Arnold Strashun, MD

Mideastern Chapter

Darrel W. McIndoe, MD

1997-1998 SNM Technologist Section Election Results

The Nominating Committee is pleased to report the 1997-1998 Society of Nuclear Medicine (SNM) Election results. The results are as follows:

■ PRESIDENT-ELECT

Lynne Roy, CNMT

■ SECRETARY/HISTORIAN Mark Crosthwaite, CNMT

■ DELEGATES

Paul Christian, CNMT Mickey Clarke, CNMT

■ FINANCE COMMITTEE

Mary Jo Struttmann, CNMT

■ NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Janet Champagne, CNMT Marc Fischer, CNMT Lyn Mehlberg, CNMT Ann Orenak, CNMT

■ MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Ann Marie Alessi, CNMT