The American Board of Science in Nuclear Medicine—Recognition of Professional Excellence

The American Board of Science in Nuclear Medicine (ABSNM) was incorporated on September 9, 1976 for the purposes of establishing and maintaining standards in the nuclear medicine sciences. The board offers certification to practitioners based on qualification by graduate education and professional experience and examination in both general and specialty areas.

The Society of Nuclear Medicine, the American College of Nuclear Medicine, and the American College of Nuclear Physicians co-sponsor the board and each organization nominates four members of the 12-member board of directors. Current officers and board members are: Richard L. Witcofski, PhD, President; Martin L. Nusynowitz, MD, Vice-President; Winfield W. Evans, PhD, Secretary/Treasurer; and Anthony R. Benedetto, PhD, Howard J. Dworkin, MD, Peter D. Esser, PhD, Howard J. Glenn, PhD, Joseph Greenberg, MD, Dan Hightower, DVM, Homer Hupf, PhD, Michael McKamey, PhD, and Shankar Vallabhajosula, PhD, Directors.

The Board has conducted annual examinations in conjunction with the meetings of The Society of Nuclear Medicine since June of 1979. The examination is written and has two parts. Part 1 in general nuclear medicine science covers basic aspects of atomic and nuclear physics, instrumentation, radiopharmaceuticals, mathematics and statistics, radiobiology, radiation protection and regulations, basic anatomy-physiology-pathology, and technical and scientific aspects of clinical nuclear medicine, including imaging and in vitro studies. Part 2 consists of specialty examinations chosen by the candidate from the following list. (a) Nuclear Medicine Physics and Instrumentation, (b) Radiopharmaceutical and Radiochemistry Science, (c) Nuclear Medicine Laboratory Science, (d) Nuclear Medicine Computer Science, (e) Radiation Protection, and (f) NMR physics and instrumentation. The issuance of a certificate by ABSNM indicates that the holder has an adequate foundation in nuclear medicine science and has passed an examination designed to test capability to practice competently in this field. It does not confer any legal qualification, privilege, or licence to practice.

By the end of it's first 10 years in existence, ABSNM had certified 100 diplomates. The Journal is pleased to recognize this accomplishment by these individuals by listing their names below. It is to be hoped that other qualified practitioners will also seek this recognition of their professional excellence. Further information and application forms for the Board's forthcoming examination in June, 1986 can be obtained from the administrator of ABSNM, Eugene Vinciguerra, ScD, 145 West 58th St., New York, NY 10019.

Thomas P. Haynie, MD Editor

AMERICAN BOARD OF SCIENCE IN NUCLEAR MEDICINE DIPLOMATES 1985

Nuclear Medicine Physics and Instrumentation Specialists

Bhagwat Ahluwalia Mohammed A. Al-Eid Charles W. Beasley Anthony Richard Benedetto Gerald Bennett Frank T. Bloe Troy L. Brannon Paul H. Brown
James E. Carey, Jr.
Wei Chang
David C. P. Chen
Shanta Chervu
Daniel A. Davis
Robert Thomas Devine
Paul J. Early
Billy Lee Edge

Winfield W. Evans
John R. Ferrell
Mark A. Ficek
David L. George
Meyer Heiman
Raleigh Francis Johnson, Jr.
R. James R. Knowles
Ralph Lieto
Roberta C. Locko

K. William Logan Max H. Lombardi Thomas Lowinger Herbert Malamud David P. Miller Paul H. Murphy Keith S. Pentlow Javid Rahimian Walter L. Robinson Charles H. Rose John P. Skrobola **Edward Murray Smith** Samuel C. So Jerry A. Thomas Wayne L. Thompson Jessie Z. Trivino Kai-Yuan Tzen Albert L. Wiley Rodney Clark Williams Terry Yoshizumi

Radiopharmaceutical and Radiochemistry Specialists

Robert E. Ackerhalt Frank Paul Castronovo, Jr. Henry Morris Chilton Michael A. Davis Mrinal K. Dewanjee Allen H. Gobuty George Hamawy Donald R. Hamilton Robert G. Hamilton David E. Harnett Dan Hightower Parvathi Hosain John P. Huberty Homer B. Hupf Yi-Jae Kao Stephen Karesh Ralph A. A. Khan Hank F. Kung Lionel M. Lieberman Robert James McAuley, Jr. Michael R. McKamey William H. Miller Stephen M. Moerlein H. Keith Morgan Jo-Sen B. Peng Garimella V. S. Rayudu Philip J. Robbins Karen C. Rosenspire Eugene P. Roth Gopal Bandhu Saha John D. Scheu

Jay A. Spicer

Larry A. Spitznagle

Mary C. Swanson

Shankar Vallabhajosula Craig C. Williams Dwight F. Wolczak Florian W. Zielinski

Nuclear Medicine Laboratory Science Specialists

Mary Lou Brown
Robert G. Hamilton
Riazul Haque Imami
Abdur Raufx Khan
James Chi Whang Lai

Nuclear Medicine Computer Science Specialists

Peter D. Esser Jeffrey R. Fitzsimmon Ilsup Kim Robert R. Perry

Radiation Protection Specialists

Frank T. Bloe
William H. Miller
Marilyn E. Noz
Frederick Van Swearingen
Albert L. Wiley