## LETTER FROM THE EDITOR

## The World Federation of Nuclear Medicine and Biology Third World Congress

The recent advancements in nuclear medicine and biology signify that we are on the threshold of providing valuable new information and procedures in research and service. As exemplified by the presentations at the Third Congress of the World Federation of Nuclear Medicine and Biology, progress has been achieved through the cooperation of the many disciplines involved. The Congress provided an opportunity for the attendees to become aware of the interests of scientists from all parts of the world and to exchange ideas personally, an invaluable method for promoting insight. Through such discussion, efforts can be coordinated toward a solution of many problems that arise in research and clinical work.

The assembly every four years of the world's scientists in our disciplines appears to occur at an optimal interval. The findings from the basic science level put forth previously have been transferred to the clinical situation and can be evaluated, and new, promising ideas that indicate the direction of active research are presented. By comparing the proceedings of each congress with those of the previous one, the accomplishments in the basic and clinical sciences of nuclear medicine and biology can be appreciated better and viewed in meaningful perspective.

At this congress one of the most exciting areas of research was especially recognized—positron imaging and positron instrumentation. The Georg von Hevesy Award was presented to Drs. M. E. Phelps, H. R. Schelbert, Sung-Cheng Huang, J. R. Barrio, H. R. Schoen, E. Henze, J. C. Mazziotta, and E. J. Hoffman of Los Angeles, California, for their investigations of cerebral and myocardial metabolism by positron imaging; and to Drs. R. Campagnolo, M. Laval, F. Moszynski, and F. Soussaline of Grenoble, France, for their advances in positron imaging technology.

At the opening ceremonies, Professor Hideo Ueda received the Hevesy Medal in recognition of his long-standing efforts in promoting this international organization. Memorable addresses were presented by Professor Masahiro Iio of the University of Tokyo, the Hevesy Lecturer; Nobel Laureate Rosalyn Yalow on Radioimmunoassay; and M. Tubiana of the Institute Gustav-Roussey, France, on the history and status of nuclear physics.

We congratulate Professor Claude Kellershohn, President of the Congress, and Dr. Claude Raynaud, Secretary General, for the superb organization that led to this outstanding meeting.

FRANK H. DELAND, M.D. University of Kentucky Medical Center Lexington, Kentucky

Volume 24. Number 2