## JNM Editors' Choice Awards for 2021

Johannes Czernin, MD, editor-in-chief of *The Journal* of Nuclear Medicine (JNM), and his associate editors and editorial board announced in April the articles chosen as the most outstanding contributions to the journal appearing in 2021. The JNM Editors' Choice Awards are presented in June as part of the SNMMI Annual Meeting. Awarded articles are selected by the associate editors by anonymous vote. "Along with my colleagues on the editorial board, I am pleased to recognize these contributions as outstanding clinical and preclinical research," said Czernin. "Submissions to JNM remained strong and of extraordinarily high quality in 2021. Our awardees represent the cuttingedge clinical research activities that are advancing nuclear medicine, molecular imaging, and theranostics to the benefit of patients."

In the category of Best Clinical Article, the award went to Manuel Röhrich, from University Hospital Heidelberg (Germany), and coauthors Patrick Naumann, Frederik L. Giesel, Peter L. Choyke, Fabian Staudinger, Annika Wefers, Dawn P. Liew, Clemens Kratochwil, Hendrik Rathke, Jakob Liermann, Klaus Herfarth, Dirk Jäger, Jürgen Debus, Uwe Haberkorn, Matthias Lang, and Stefan A. Koerber for "Impact of <sup>68</sup>Ga-FAPI PET/CT imaging on the therapeutic management of primary and recurrent pancreatic ductal adenocarcinomas" (*J Nucl Med.* 2021;62:779–786). This contribution was also named the best overall article in *JNM* for 2021.

Mark G. MacAskill, from the University/BHF Centre for Cardiovascular Science at the University of Edinburgh (UK), and coauthors Agne Stadulyte, Lewis Williams, Timaeus E.F. Morgan, Nikki L. Sloan, Carlos J. Alcaide-Corral, Tashfeen Walton, Catriona Wimberley, Chis-Anne McKenzie, Nick Spath, William Mungall, Ralph BouHaidar, Marc R. Dweck, Gillian A. Gray, David E. Newby, Christophe Lucatelli, Andrew Sutherland, Sally L. Pimlott, and Adriana A.S. Tavares were the recipients of the award for Best Basic Science Article for "Quantification of macrophage-driven inflammation during myocardial infarction with <sup>18</sup>F-LW223, a novel TSPO radiotracer with binding independent of the rs6971 human polymorphism" (*J Nucl Med.* 2021;62:536–544).

"The associate editors and I are grateful for these remarkable contributions," said Czernin. "These and similar efforts ensure that *JNM* remains the journal of choice for publishing clinical, basic, and translational research in nuclear medicine, molecular imaging, radiopharmaceutical therapy, and theranostics."

## **Outstanding JNMT Articles for 2021**

athy S. Thomas, MHA, CNMT, PET, editor-in-chief of the Journal of Nuclear Medicine Technology (JNMT), and members of the journal's board of editors announced in April the winners of annual awards for outstanding articles. These awards are presented each year to the authors of articles that have contributed significantly to practice, education, and scientific understanding in the field. The first-place Editors' Choice Award for 2021 went to Shannon N. Youngblood from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (Little Rock) and Ochsner Medical Center (Baton Rouge, LA) for "Bullying in the nuclear medicine department and during clinical nuclear medicine education" (J Nucl Med Technol 2021;49:156-163). The second-place award was presented to Kyohei Okuda from Tottori University Hospital (Yonago, Japan) and coauthors Daisuke Hasegawa, Takashi Kamiya, Hajime Ichikawa, Takuro Umeda, Takushi Ohkubo, and Kenta Miwa for "Multicenter study of quantitative SPECT: Reproducibility of <sup>99m</sup>Tc quantitation using a conjugated-gradient minimization reconstruction algorithm" (J Nucl Med Technol. 2021;49:138-142).

Pietro Paolo de Barros, from the Federal Institute of Education, Science, and Technology of Santa Catarina–IFSC (Florianópolis, Brazil), and coauthors Tatiane Sabriela Cagol Camozzato, Tiago Jahn, Flávio Augusto Penna Soares, Letícia Machado da Silva, Jacqueline de Aguiar Soares, and Marco Antonio Neiva Koslosky received the third-place award for "Analysis of radiometry on patients undergoing radioactive iodine therapy" (*J Nucl Med Technol.* 2021;49:75–81).

Julie Bolin from the Nuclear Medicine Technology Program at GateWay Community College (Phoenix, AZ) was the recipient of the award for best continuing education article for "Thyroid follicular epithelial cell–derived cancer: New approaches and treatment strategies" (*J Nucl Med Techol.* 2021;49:199–208). The award for best educators' forum article went George Patchoros and Grace Wenzler from Bronx Community College (NY) for "Satisfying program-level outcomes by integrating primary literature into the online classroom" (*J Nucl Med Technol.* 2021;49:170–174).

"These outstanding articles show not only the diversity and complexity of research and education in our field, they represent extraordinary achievements by frontline care specialists during a very challenging time," said Thomas. "I am especially proud that these award-winning authors address not only technical and practice issues but ethical questions to which we all should be more sensitive. We congratulate this year's awardees and all those whose contributions continue to make *JNMT* a vital resource for our community."