## A Focus on Collaboration

n interesting session at the recent Association of University Radiologists (AUR) meeting in Los Angeles, CA, was the panel discussion on "What Are, and Should Be, the Roles and Interrelationships of Our Professional Organizations, and How Do They Impact Education in Nuclear Medicine?" The session, held on April 12, was organized and moderated by Jay Harolds, MD, former president of the Association of Program Directors in Radiology and the American College of Nuclear Medicine. He started the session by noting that better cooperation among organizations involved with nuclear medicine can result in more efficient use of resources and a unified approach to training, scope of practice, guidelines, and standards. This would be a positive move for these organizations and for health care providers, patients, and the public.

The SNMMI perspective was presented by its presidentelect, Gary Dillehay, MD. The American College of Radiology views were given by the chair of its board of chancellors, Paul Ellenbogen, MD. The perspective of the American Society of Nuclear Cardiology and the Council for Certification in Cardiovascular Imaging was given by Howard Lewin, MD. The position of the American Board of Nuclear Medicine was given by its vice chair, Eric Rohren, MD, PhD. The American Board of Radiology was represented by its president-elect, Milton Guiberteau, MD. The perspective of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education was given by a former member of the board of directors, Anton Hasso, MD. The presentations provided discussion and historical context for the role of each of the societies in supporting education or testing of trainees in nuclear medicine. A number of suggestions were made regarding possible future cooperation between several of the organizations.

The session lasted 90 minutes, including a lively discussion period. The overall tone of this AUR session was quite upbeat and positive. Attendees were hopeful that this meeting would lead to closer collaboration among the societies in the near future and that discussions along these lines will be ongoing.

> Bennett S. Greenspan, MD, MS Augusta, GA Jay Harolds, MD Grand Rapids, MI

## **Outstanding JNMT Articles for 2012**

orman E. Bolus, MSPH, MPH, CNMT, editor of the *Journal of Nuclear Medicine Technology (JNMT)*, will present awards at the 2013 SNM Annual Meeting to



Leah R. Walters



Annah Skillen

the authors of 3 articles chosen as the most outstanding 2012 *JNMT* contributions and to the authors of a new special award for publication in continuing education.

The lead authors or their representatives will be recognized in a ceremony during the annual business meeting of the SNMMI-TS, held this year on June 11 in Vancouver, British Columbia. Awardees for the 3 outstanding articles are: Leah R. Walters, Katherine J. Martin, Mark S. Jacobson, Joseph C. Hung, and Elton A. Mosman from the Mayo Clinic (Rochester, MN) for "Stability evaluation of <sup>18</sup>F-FDG at high radioactive concentrations (J Nucl Med Technol. 2012;40:52–56); Annah Skillen, Geoffrey M. Currie, and Janelle M. Wheat from Charles Sturt University (Wagga Wagga, Australia) for "Thermal control of brown adipose tissue in <sup>18</sup>F-FDG PET" (J Nucl

*Med Technol.* 2012;40:99–103); and A. Robert Schleipman and Victor H. Gerbaudo from Brigham and Women's Hospital (Boston, MA) for "Occupational radiation dosimetry assessment using an automated infusion device for positron-emitting radiotracers" (*J Nucl Med Technol.* 2012;40:244–248).

A special *JNMT* Editors' Choice Award for best continuing education paper in 2012 will be presented to Mary Beth Farrell and Sue H. Abreu, representing the Intersocietal Accreditation Commission (Ellicott City, MD), for "A practical guide to quality improvement in nuclear medicine" (*J Nucl Med Technol.* 2012;40:211–219).

"These papers are representative of the expanding scope and reach of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging technologies, as well as of the continuing focus on high quality and

excellence," said Bolus. "We congratulate this year's awardees and all those whose contributions continue to make *JNMT* a vital resource for this rapidly growing and engaged community."



A. Robert Schleipman



Mary Beth Farrell