Pacific Northwest Chapter Wins Chapter Bowl

The 1996 Seventh Annual Chapter Bowl challenge at the Society of Nuclear Medicine's (SNM) Annual Meeting in Denver, CO in June pitted the Pacific Northwest Chapter against the Southern California Chapter. The Pacific Northwest Chapter won the bowl in triple overtime. Several hundred people attended this year's bowl to watch as team players tried to correctly interpret nuclear medicine scans flashed on a projector screen. The tournament almost ended in a draw as the two teams were tied at the end of the regulation time. Three extra questions had to be presented in order to declare a winner.

Members of the Pacific Northwest Chapter included: Captain Jerry V. Glowniak, MD; James L. Lear, MD; Tom K. Lewellen, PhD; Helen R. Nadel, MD; and Daniel Worsley, MD. Southern California Chapter members included: Captain John H. Miller, MD; Edwin C. Glass, MD; Carol S. Marcus, PhD, MD; Frederick S. Mishkin, MD; and Lalitha Ramanna, MD.

The Chapter Bowl Task Group served as referees and scorekeepers during the Chapter Bowl. The group was composed of

James J. Conway, MD and Paul E. Weiss, MD and co-moderators Bennett S. Greenspan, MD and Alan H. Maurer, MD. More than 20 nuclear medicine departments contributed cases to this year's Chapter Bowl.

Further Steps to Ensure Moly-99 Supply

Several initiatives are underway to ensure a reliable supply of molybdenum-99 in the next century. The U.S. currently has no domestic supplier of ⁹⁹Mo, which is used for the production of ^{99m}Tc. Most of the U.S. supply of ⁹⁹Mo comes from the aging NRU reactor in Canada. Here is an update on the recent efforts:

• Nordion gets green light: Nordion International in Kanata, Ontario came to an agreement in July with the Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) and the Canadian government regarding its plans to build two Maple reactors and a processing facility. The company and its parent company, MDS Health Group Limited, had delayed building the reactors for several years until the agreement could be reached. Ian Mumford, vice president of corporate affairs for Nordion, said the first reactor will be functioning by 1999 and the second reactor will

be finished a year later.

"We're confident that the timetable will be met since most of the planning work is already done," said Mumford. The reactor building has been completed and the infrastructure of the facility has been built. Before Nordion can actually begin building the two identical Maple reactors, however, it must obtain approval from the AECL for the reactors' design. The facility also must undergo an environmental assessment process which should take about six months, according to Mumford.

• DOE issues environmental impact statement: In May, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) issued its final environmental impact statement analyzing its proposed action and alternatives for the production of ⁹⁹Mo. Their preferred alternative is to modify the Annular Core Research Reactor and adjacent hot-cell facility at Sandia National Laboratories in New Mexico, and the Chemistry and Metallurgy Research facility at Los Alamos National Laboratory in New Mexico. DOE would produce ⁹⁹Mo as a back-up supplier, the agency says, in order to prevent any disruption in the current supply.

The DOE still has not made a final decision on its plans to produce the isotope. It plans to issue a record of decision within the next few months.

1996 Council Election Results

■ Academic Council:

PRESIDENT-ELECT: Andrew T. Taylor, Jr. MD BOARD OF DIRECTOR: Lawrence E. Holder, MD

■ Brain Imaging Council:

VICE-PRESIDENT:
Alan Waxman, MD
VICE-PRESIDENT ELECT:
Robert Hellman, MD
BOARD OF DIRECTORS:
Hussein Abdel-Dayem, MD
Nicholas Borys, MD
Kirk Frey, MD, PhD
Richard A. Holmes, MD
Guy Lamoureux, MD, PhD
Dan Pavel, MD
Eileen O. Smith, CNMT, MBA
(technologist representative)

■ Cardiovascular Council:

PRESIDENT-ELECT: Gary V. Heller, MD SECRETARY/TREASURER: Robert C. Hendel, MD BOARD OF DIRECTORS: Donna M. Natale, CNMT Marla C. Kiess, MD Markus Schwaiger, MD Richard E. Stewart, MD Stephen A. Stowers, MD Jack A. Ziffer, MD, PhD

■ Clinical Trials Council:

BOARD OF DIRECTORS:
Naomi Alazraki, MD
Michael J. Blend, PhD, DO
A.B. Brill, MD, PhD
Leonard M. Freeman, MD
David M. Goldenberg, ScD, MD
Randall A. Hawkins, MD, PhD
Steven M. Larson, MD
Robert T. Maguire, MD
Ronald D. Neumann, MD
Aldo N. Serafini, MD
Douglas Van Nostrand, MD
Barry W. Wessels, PhD

■ Computer and Instrumentation Council: PRESIDENT-ELECT: Frederic H.

Fahey, DSc SECRETARY/TREASURER: James R. Halama, PhD

■ Pediatric Imaging Council: PRESIDENT:

Michael Gelfand, MD SECRETARY/TREASURER: Howard T. Harcke, Jr, MD Board of Directors:: Barabara Reed, MD Nancy Burchell, CNMT

■ Radiopharmaceutical Science Council:

PRESIDENT-ELECT:
John W. Babich
SECRETARY/TREASURER:
Mark M. Goodman, PhD
BOARD OF DIRECTORS:
Yu-Shin Ding, PhD

John Lister-James, PhD Ann Warbick-Cerone

■ Therapy Council:

PRESIDENT-ELECT:
Hani Abdel-Nabi, MD
VICE-PRESIDENT:
Wynn A. Volkert, PhD
SECRETARY:
Carl W. Seidel
TREASURER:
Christine Z. Dickinson, MD
BOARD OF DIRECTORS:
Robert Atcher, PhD
William A. Ehmig
Stanley J. Goldsmith, MD
Patrick R. Hastings, CNMT
Larry K. Kvols, MD
Donald A. Podoloff, MD