News Briefs

E&R Foundation Funds Three Student Fellowships for Summer 1987

The Education and Research (E&R) Foundation of The Society of Nuclear Medicine (SNM) recently decided to fund three student fellowships for the summer of 1987. At the SNM 34th Annual Meeting last month in Toronto, Canada, Ralph J. Gorten, MD, president of the E&R Foundation, informed the SNM Board of Trustees of the student fellowship projects:

- Heidi Jayne Bixby, Albany Medical Center, "Formulation of Technetium-99m-Labeled Liposome-Monoclonal Antibody Complex for Better Tumor Imaging"
- Alain Dagher, Montreal Neurological Institute, "Positron Emission Tomography Study of Cerebral Metabolism in Migraine Headaches"
- Paul G. Tepe, Presbyterian-University Hospital, Pittsburgh, "Determination of the Effect of Cyclosporine A on Renal Function"

The E&R Foundation funds student fellowships "for bright, young, and eager applicants who come well-recommended, and who wish to spend two or three months in a nuclear medicine facility with a faculty advisor," said Dr. Gorten. In addition, the E&R Foundation provides pilot research grants for young investigators who need seed money to gather preliminary data that can be used in applying for larger research grants.

Earlier this year, the E&R Foundation announced its plan to establish a permanent endowment.

"The mission of the E&R Foundation is to foster the development of nuclear medicine by investing in people and ideas. For nuclear medicine to survive and grow, it needs to attract to its ranks bright young minds, as well as to assist and stimulate those distinguished physicians, scientists, and technologists who have new and innovative ideas," said Dr. Gorten.

The E&R Foundation also recognizes promising investigators with its annual Tetalman Memorial Award.

[Contributions may be sent to: Education & Research Foundation, The Society of Nuclear Medicine, Box 887NL, 136 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016-6760.]

Harvard Omits Nuclear Medicine from Relative Value Scale Study

The Harvard School of Public Health has eliminated nuclear medicine, as well as 14 other specialties, from its resource-based relative value scale (RVS) study because of insufficient funding. Results of the RVS study are expected to help health policy makers determine a physician payment structure based on the time and complexity of medical procedures, and the training and practice costs of each specialty (see *Newsline*, Sept. 1986, pp. 1381–1382).

The \$1.9 million provided by the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA), which controls Medicare reimbursement policies, will allow the Harvard group to survey only 12 of the 27 medical specialties originally included in the study. The Harvard group said that any omitted specialty could participate if \$60,000 were provided to cover costs. No nuclear medicine organization has agreed to provide that funding.

The American College of Radiology (ACR) offered to allow six nuclear medicine procedures to be included in the radiology survey, but the Harvard group rejected the idea because "it would blur the distinctions between nuclear medicine and radiolo-

gy, it would reduce the statistical validity of the radiology sampling, and it would be unfair to other specialties."

The Society of Nuclear Medicine 1987 Election Results

President-Elect

Barbara Y. Croft, PhD

Vice President-Elect

Leon S. Malmud, MD

Treasurer

Harold L. Atkins, MD

Trustees

Eva V. Dubovsky, MD William D. Kaplan, MD Barry A. Siegel, MD Heidi S. Weissmann, MD

Members Taking Office for the 1987–1988 Term

President

B. Leonard Holman, MD

Vice President

Paul M. Weber, MD

Technologist Section 1987 Election Results

President-Elect

Paul D. Cole, CNMT

Secretary/Historian

Lynnette A. Fulk, CNMT

SNM Trustee

Maria V. Nagel, CNMT

Finance Committee

Sharon Corbett Surrel, CNMT

Membership Committee

Donna E. Johnson, CNMT Ronni G. Markwell, CNMT

Nominating Committee

Allen E. Beranek, CNMT Barbara E. Schmidt, CNMT Shirley G. Garrett, CNMT Kathleen S. Thomas, CNMT

Members Taking Office for the 1987–1988 Term

President

Marcia R. Boyd, CNMT