EDITORIALS



Michael E. Phelps, Ph.D. Recipient of the E. O. Lawrence Memorial Award

"For outstanding contributions to nuclear medicine, including the development and application of positron emission tomography to the study of the chemistry of the human brain and its relation to mental processes," Michael E. Phelps, Ph.D., became the recipient this year of a prestigious honor, the E. O. Lawrence Memorial Award. This award was established in 1959 by the Atomic Energy Commission with the approval of President Eisenhower, who stated that such an award in recognition of Dr. Lawrence's contributions to science and our country would serve as an inspiration to others to dedicate their talents to scientific endeavor. The Lawrence Awards are presented for recent work in one of several fields related to atomic energy, and the recipients are judged primarily on the basis of scientific and technical competence and achievement. These awards recognize specifically the young investigators who relatively early in their careers show exceptional promise of making substantial future contributions.

Approximately ten years ago, Dr. Phelps and associates conceived a type of positron emission tomographic system that has since developed to the point of commercial versions being used throughout the world. Investigations with positron imaging have included studies of regional cerebral blood flow, changes in cerebral blood kinetics observed in seizures, regional cerebral glucose metabolism in various neurological and psychiatric disorders, and the effects of visual, auditory, and cognitive stimulation in the normal person. Positron imaging has provided the means to quantify and visualize physiologic, metabolic, and receptor phenomena, impossible by any other techniques available today. Dr. Phelps is the author or coauthor of nearly 300 articles, and over 200 of these have been in the areas of tomography, positron instrumentation and imaging, and radiotracers for positron investigations.

Dr. Phelps and collaborators received the Georg von Hevesy Prize from that Foundation in 1978 and again in 1982. In 1983, he was named to the Jennifer Jones Simon Endowed Chair and Professorship at the University of California, Los Angeles, and that same year received from The Society of Nuclear Medicine the Paul C. Aebersold Award for Outstanding Achievement in Basic Science Applied to Nuclear Medicine. He has provided leadership and collaboration for innumerable projects at his own and other institutions throughout the world.

We congratulate Dr. Phelps for this well-deserved recognition of his remarkable contributions to science.

FRANK H. DELAND, M.D. EDITOR