## Gambhir Receives de Hevesy Nuclear Pioneer Award

anjiv Sam Gambhir, MD, PhD, from Stanford University School of Medicine (CA), was named on June 5 as the 2011 recipient of the SNM Georg Charles de Hevesy Nuclear Pioneer Award for his contributions to the nuclear medicine profession. He was presented the award at a special session held during the SNM Annual Meeting in San Antonio, TX. Gambhir is the Virginia and D.K. Ludwig Professor of Radiology, Bioengineering, and Materials Science & Engineering at Stanford, where he also serves as director of the Molecular Imaging Program and head of the Nuclear Medicine Division. Later this year, Gambhir will assume the position of chair of the Stanford University School of Medicine Department of Radiology. He also leads the Canary Center at Stanford for Cancer Early Detection. "Dr. Gambhir has made extraordinary contributions to the field of molecular imaging," said Dominique Delbeke, MD, PhD, 2010-2011 president of SNM. "He is leading the way in shaping the future of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging."

Gambhir's molecular imaging research is internationally recognized and has focused on interrogating fundamental molecular events in living subjects. He has developed and clinically translated several multimodality imaging strategies, including imaging of gene and cell therapies. He has also developed strategies for Raman and photoacoustic molecular imaging and pioneered techniques for imaging gene expression in living individuals. Gambhir has published more than 400 papers in nuclear medicine and has more than 30 patents pending or approved.

In 2009, Gambhir received the SNM Paul C. Aebersold Award for outstanding achievement in basic nuclear medicine science. Among his other awards are the 2009 Outstanding Researcher Award from the Radiological Society of North America, the Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, the Holst Medal, the Tesla Medal, and the Hounsfield Medal from Imperial College London (UK). He was selected for membership in the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies in 2008 and was among the youngest scientists ever to be so recognized.

SNM has given the de Hevesy Award every year since 1960 to honor groundbreaking scientific work. The award is presented to an individual or individuals for outstanding



Gambhir receives de Hevesy Award from Michael E. Phelps, PhD (left), with SNM President Dominique Delbeke, MD, PhD (right)

contributions to the field of nuclear medicine. De Hevesy received the 1943 Nobel Prize in chemistry for his work in determining the absorption, distribution, metabolism, and elimination of radioactive compounds in the human body. His research led to the foundation of nuclear medicine as a tool for diagnosis and therapy. The list of previous recipients includes numerous Nobel laureates—such as Ernest O. Lawrence, PhD, who built the world's first cyclotron for the production of radionuclides, and Glenn T. Seaborg, PhD, who discovered more than half a dozen new elements.

"I am honored to receive such an important award from the SNM and am thankful to all my mentors and colleagues for helping me to move our field forward for the benefit of patients everywhere," said Gambhir on accepting the award. "Many challenges lie ahead, but none are too great for the combined intellect of our clinicians, scientists, and trainees."

**SNM**