Loevinger–Berman Award Presented to Brownell

ordon L. Brownell, PhD, professor emeritus of nuclear engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Cambridge and honorary physicist in the radiology department at Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH), was named the recipient of the 2006 Loevinger-Berman Award for Excellence in Internal Dosimetry, presented June 4 by the Medical Internal Radiation Dose (MIRD) Committee at the annual SNM meeting, held in San Diego, CA. The award was established in 1999 in honor of Robert Loevinger, PhD, and Mones Berman, PhD, who formulated the MIRD schema for internal dose calculations. The award is given in recognition of excellence pertaining to the field of internal dosimetry as it relates to nuclear medicine through research and/or development, significant publication contributions, or advancement of the understanding of internal dosimetry in relationship to risk and therapeutic efficacy.

Brownell was honored for a career spanning 6 decades of excellence in the engineering sciences and medical technology and for his outstanding and original contributions to internal dosimetry and the development of positron imaging and PET. He and colleagues at MIT and MGH developed the first positron-imaging device for medical use in 1950 and the first PET scanner in 1970. Brownell and Gerald J. Hine, PhD, in collaboration with Loevinger, pioneered the standardization of methods to compute absorbed dose from internal emitters along with describing some of the first work with radiotracers and compartmental analysis. Hine and Brownell's 1956 text *Radiation Dosimetry* remained the definitive work in this area for several decades.

Brownell, who has also served as director of the MGH Physics Research Laboratory, received his bachelor of science degree from Bucknell University (Lewisburg, PA) and his doctorate in physics from MIT. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, an honorary fellow of the American College of Nuclear Medicine, and a director and fellow of the



Barry Wessels, left, presented Gordon Brownell with the Loevinger–Berman Award at the MIRD-sponsored continuing education session on June 4.

American Nuclear Society. He has received the Coolidge Award from the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (1987), the Georg von Hevesy Memorial Award from the Society of Nuclear Medicine Europe (1979), and the SNM Paul C. Aebersold Award (1975).

Previous Loevinger–Berman award winners have included Roger J. Cloutier (1999), Dandamudi V. Rao, PhD (2000), Keith F. Eckerman, PhD (2001), Sven-Erik Strand, PhD (2002), John W. Poston, Sr., PhD (2003), Roger W. Howell, PhD (2004), and James S. Robertson, MD, PhD (2005).

> Barry W. Wessels, PhD University Hospitals of Cleveland/ Case Western Reserve University Cleveland, OH

Call for Nominations: Loevinger-Berman Award

The MIRD Committee is seeking suggestions for nominees for the Loevinger–Berman Award, which recognizes excellence in the field of internal radiation dosimetry as it relates to nuclear medicine through: (1) research and/or development; (2) significant publication contributions; and/or (3) advancement of the understanding of internal dosimetry in relation to risk and therapeutic efficacy. Recommendations made to the committee should list reasons why the nominee is deserving of the award and include a curriculum vitae and references to relevant publications by the nominee. The committee will consider all recommendations carefully. Nominations should be sent with supporting material to: Stephen R. Thomas, PhD; Chair, MIRD Committee; University of Cincinnati, Department of Radiology; 231 Albert Sabin Way; Cincinnati, OH 45267-0761; or by e-mail to steve.thomas@uc.edu.